NINE TO FIVE CHIC

_71c88412

I get into a matatu, get comfortable and get my book as per usual. Three minutes into the drive I realize I have been reading one single sentence so I take my phone. I am not psyched for reading anyway. Usually, I barely notice the person seated next to me. This time I did. I could feel him staring into my phone. So I looked up, it was an older man, my grandfather’s age. So I passively indulged him by letting him stare.

“Are you a designer”, he asked. “Sort of” , I answered. “You are good, just stay true to yourself. Imitation limits you” he said. His words could be so cliché on some other context, but this time I attached a lot of weight to them. Moral of this story;

1.You don’t have to be like the rest of them.

2.While in a matatu, indulge the old man seated next to you. More often than not, they have something valuable to say.

Dear corporate chic, they say you need to be in a classic button down white blouse, the black skirt, the pantyhose, the conservative skirt suit and the grey trouser suit. All that is okay. However you don’t have to hate your job because you hate what you have to wear there! You can still remain stylish without necessarily offending anyone at the office! Allow me to give you an example of how to go about it!

_71c88052

_71c88642

 

_71c88702_71c88092

_71c87732

A girl can daydream right?

_71c87672

_71c88472

That’s all folks ☺

Full suit | My collection

Top.        | Thrifted

Shoes.    | Emirates shoes

Bag.         | Sasa mall

Make Up | Lily Katule

Photography | Ogega Andere

2 thoughts on “NINE TO FIVE CHIC

  1. I can’t believe this is the first time I am stopping by here….. You my darling, are special….. There’s effortless class in everything you wear….. This look is so bomb…..Love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

